top of page

Multidimensional Assessment of Interoceptive Awareness:
Youth Card

kit photo2(2).jpg

The MAIA-Y Card Deck is a standardized measure of eight dimensions of interoceptive awareness in children and youth, ages 7 to 17 years. It can be completed as a self-administered assessment or in an interview administered format. 


Thirty-two aspects of interoceptive awareness are depicted in diverse groups of children and youth engaged in social participation and everyday activities. Interoceptive awareness includes noticing internal body sensations and emotional states which is which is essential for physical and mental health, and emotional regulation.



  • Noticing Feelings

  • Not Distracting 

  • Not Worrying 

  • Attention Regulation

  • Emotional Awareness 

  • Self-Regulation 

  • Body Listening 

  • Body Trust 



  • A focus on everyday activities and social participation

  • Emphasis on diversity and inclusion

  • Tool for tracking changes over time


  • 32 illustrated cards 

  • Visual rating scale

  • Interoceptive Awareness Wellness Wheel

  • Pack of 25 score cards

  • Instructions


MAIA-YCD scales, items and administration considerations 

The Five Regulatory Dimensions format focuses on aspects of interoceptive awareness most closely linked with regulatory skills. These five scales have been shown to change the most in response to intervention.  

Administration and Scoring 

bottom of page